Local students named McScholar Athletes

July 31, 2013
Minnechaug Regional High School’s Hannah Tarpey (center, left) and Andrew Hunt (center, right) were among the 86 Western Massachusetts student-athletes who received the McDonald’s McScholar Athlete Award. They are pictured with 1984 Olympic Gold Medalist Tim Daggett (left) and McDonald’s owner/operator Dan Ashburn (right).

Reminder Publications submitted photo

SPRINGFIELD – High school seniors from across Western Massachusetts were recently presented with the McDonald’s McScholar Athlete Award for exemplary athletic and academic achievements, strong leadership, good citizenship and high levels of integrity. A total of 86 students – the largest McScholar class in program history – were presented with the award at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield by Scott Coen, local media personality.

Tim Daggett, 1984 Olympic Gold Medalist and NBC gymnastics analyst, served as the event’s keynote speaker. Dan Ashburn, owner/operator of ten McDonald’s restaurants in Western Massachusetts, congratulated the athletes and welcomed the principals, parents, and coaches who turned out to honor the accomplishments of the scholar-athletes.

The students have successfully balanced participation in school sports, strong academic standing, community volunteerism as well as numerous other activities.

The following high school students in the Reminder Publications coverage area were honored with the McScholar Athlete Award:

Agawam High School – Kamelle Robinson, Joeanna Glantz;

Cathedral High School – Arthur Potter, Dominique Smith;

Chicopee Comprehensive High School – Harley Kagan, Kelly Hiersche;

Chicopee High School – Thomas O’Shea, Ashley Dion;

East Longmeadow High School – Gourab Sarker, Anne Stack;

Granby Junior Senior High School – Joseph Grabowski, Noelle Menard;

Holyoke Catholic High School – Jeffrey Laprade, Katelyn Gilhooly;

Holyoke High School – Richard “RJ” Landry, Kathleen Fitzgerald;

Ludlow High School – Jacob LaPierre, Disha Patel;

Minnechaug Regional High School – Andrew Hunt, Hannah Torpey

New Leadership Charter School – Jasmine Jones;

Roger L. Putnam Vocational Technical High School – KayJuan Bynum, Vanessa McCaskill;

Sabis International Charter School – Kevin White, Kimberly Malmborg;

South Hadley High School – Michael Paleologopoulos, Tess Gauthier;

Southwick-Tolland Regional High School – Ryan Harper, Simone Thibault;

Springfield Central High School – Jacob Mueller, Tien Hua;

Springfield High School of Commerce – Ricardo Castro, Chevanese Wray;

Springfield High School of Science & Technology – John Nguyen, Chasidee Vasquez;

The Macduffie School – Shangzhe Dai, Stamatia Papamichail;

West Springfield High School – Christopher Lipscomb, Elizabeth Patruski;

Westfield High School – Nathan Barnes, Amy Wardner;

Wilbraham Monson Academy – Philip Antonacci, Carly Cronin; and

William J. Dean Technical High School – Rafael Gomez, Daisha Serrano.

“We are excited to be recognizing our seventeenth McScholar class in 2013. These student-athletes are exemplary individuals and deserve to be commended for their accomplishments,’’ Ashburn said. “The McDonald’s owner/operators of Western Massachusetts are proud to work with schools on this local program and wish all of the McScholar Athlete recipients continued success in the future.’’

The annual McScholar Athlete Awards program was founded by the local McDonald’s owner/operators. McDonald’s created the McScholar Athlete program, the largest of its type in Western Massachusetts, working with local high school principals who nominate one male and one female student from their school each year.

Comments From Our Readers:

Reminder Publications, Inc. 280 North Main St., East Longmeadow, MA 01028 • Tel: 413.525.6661 • Fax 413.525.5882

Web Design by