We are hometown news

New homebuilder licenses required

As of Jan. 1, 2008, there are four new "Specialty" License Categories: Residential Roof Covering Supervisor License, Residential Window and Siding Construction Supervisor License, Residential Solid Fuel-Burning Appliance Installer Construction Supervisor License and Demolition Only Construction Supervisor License. By July 1, contractors must be licensed if they will be applying for a permit to perform any of the above mentioned projects.
The Home Builders Association of Western Massachusetts will be conducting a two-hour seminar educating contractors about the new and existing license requirements on May 13 at the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Riverdale Street, West Springfield. Registration will begin at 7:30 a.m. and the seminar will take place from 8 to 10 a.m. A representative from the Board of Building Regulations and Standards will be conducting the program and answering questions. Learn who must be licensed and what will happen if contractors are not licensed by the July 1 deadline.
The Seventh Edition also allows for qualified HIC Registrants to be considered for "grandfathered" status which would allow an individual to receive a license in one or more category, but candidates must demonstrate sufficient experience in the specific category of license. It is important to note that qualifications are submitted under pains and penalties of perjury and the Board may revoke a license if it is determined that a candidate obtained a license by fraudulent means.
Grandfathered applications will be accepted at the training but the following documents must be brought:
Application completed, signed, dated and notarized. (A notary will be on site.)
Photograph of applicant's face only, 1" x 1-1/4" affixed to the application.
Letter of Attestation to document experience supervising people, doing the work for which the CSL is being applied, providing: History of five years of experience between January 1990 and July 2008; the name of the owner, the address and the dates work was performed of the property at which the work was done; and a check in the sum of $150, payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
The cost for members of the Home Builders Association is $25 per person. The cost for a non-member is $50. If you would like more information, or would like to register, please call the Home Builders office at 733-3126.