Rediker wins seat on Hampden-Wilbraham Regional School Committee amid low voter turnout

May 18, 2023 | Sarah Heinonen

HAMPDEN — Voters came out on May 15 to elect Richard Rediker for a seat on the Hampden-Wilbraham Regional School Committee. Rediker received 173 votes, while his opponent Meredith Anne Sample got 59 votes.

Rediker and Sample ran for the seat left open by the departure of Maura Ryan, who has served as the School Committee vice chair for the past two years.

“I would like to thank the many people who helped me get elected and especially the voters who put their trust in me,” Rediker told Reminder Publishing. “I will be a voice on the School Committee for students, and back positions that will help our administration and teachers provide them the best possible education. It is also important that I listen to the educational concerns of all members of our community and help all of us work together towards reaching our common goal of doing what is best for our students.”

A total of 239 voters, 7% of the electorate, cast a ballot in this election. During the 2023 annual town election, 480 voters, 13% of registered individuals, voted. As is the case this year, that election had only one seat for which more than one candidate was vying.

There was one anticipated write-in campaign for a one-year term as park commissioner. Terry Ford, the only write-in candidate, received 12 votes. Suzanne Shuttleworth was reelected to the two-year park commissioner seat, while Carrie Joseph will serve as a commissioner for three more years. Julie Wickman was also elected to a three-year term as park commissioner.

Richard Green was reelected as town moderator for a term of one year.

John Flynn and Robert Makuch were reelected to the boards of Selectmen and Assessors, respectively.

Cynthia Connors maintained her seat on the Cemetery Commission and Jean Hall was newly elected as a library trustee. These positions each have three-year terms.

Heather Beattie was elected to a full five-year term on the Planning Board. She was originally appointed to fill a mid-term vacancy in 2021.

Share this: